Dandelion Detox Smoothie

Hi, I’m Maddy and this is my first post! I love all things yoga, cats, and food. This post is about the latter.

Katie turned me on to green smoothies back when we were roomies. Before trying them I thought they looked like disgusting swamp slime, but now I see them for the liquid sunshine that they are!

I’m calling this concoction my Dandelion Detox Smoothie. Dandelion greens are amazing for removing toxins and supporting overall health (vague claims I know, but trust me!). Grab some at the store or from your own unsprayed-by-chemicals-backyard.

As you probably could have guessed, this drink is incredibly nutrient dense. It has over double your daily requirement of vitamin A, over triple your DV of vitamin C, around 32% each of calcium and iron… and those are just the highlights! Detox daily with raw, colorful, chlorophyl rich foods and you will glow like you’re knocked up.

IMG_0073

The beautiful ingredients

Ingredients:

***I know organic is pricy, but try your best because it’s really worth it! The grapefruit and pineapple may be relatively safe to buy conventional since you discard the skins, but go all the way organic if possible.***

1 grapefruit, peeled

1 small granny smith, chopped, seeds and core included!

1/2 – 1 cup of frozen pineapple (depending on how sweet you like it)

2-3 cups of dandelion greens

2-3 cups of spinach

1 cup of filtered water

IMG_0079

pre-swirl

Method:

Throw it all in your Vitamix* or other high-speed blender, swirl until vortex forms and enjoy. If you’re using a less powerful blender, leave out the apple core and chop everything smaller.

IMG_0082

Do you see a face?

To me, this blend tastes mostly like grapefruit. I don’t really  taste any “green” flavor. However, if you are new to green smoothies maybe start with 1 cup each of dandelion and spinach then add more to taste.

IMG_0081

The finished product!

*Don’t have a Vitamix? Sell your first born and get one. Seriously. Life changing. I’m still puzzling over how I survived nearly 24 years without one.

2 responses to “Dandelion Detox Smoothie

Leave a Reply

