Capturing Bokeh on a Snow Day

Image

It’s a snowy day here in Va! I’m home from work and Luna is keeping me company. It’s been 9 days since we brought her home from the shelter. She is settling in well thus far!

Image

I love how these paper snowflakes made by our friends look with the glistening real snow behind. I know who made each one and I love looking at them!

Image

On to bokeh… who doesn’t love these magical orbs? It is such a fun photography effect to play with. It’s nothing new, but I thought I would share a few easy steps on how to create it.

First, use the manual setting on your camera. You need a lens with a low aperture, my favorite to use is my Nikkor 50mm 1.8. Set your aperture anywhere from f/1.4 to f/2.8. This will create a shallow depth of field. Next, you need to let in a lot of light so set your shutter speed and ISO accordingly.

Then, choose your shot. I like to add something in the foreground so the orbs are in the background, as you can see below. But, shots that are simply bokeh are also gorgeous.

Image

Image

Image

The process is simple but the result can be extraordinary. Try it out!

Anyone have other bokeh tips? Please share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

